hasemvip.blogg.se

Samba ubuntu windows asking for password
Samba ubuntu windows asking for password





samba ubuntu windows asking for password samba ubuntu windows asking for password samba ubuntu windows asking for password

The only thing I can think of that would make this work is if you had the following package installed: libpam-smbpass which forces the samba password to match the login password for that linux user. Sudo smbpasswd -a user-nameIt appears that you did the first part but not the second part. ** Then you add that Linux user to the samba database: ** You create a user on the server itself complete with his own home directory. Therefore I hope some people here can tell me what I'm doing wrong when it comes to setting up home-shares for users.Īdding the user to the Samba password database?The way this is done on a standard server is for every remote client: I wish to learn, but online documentation fails me. I'm pretty new at Ubuntu server management. While double clicking the share opens it up. But when I double click to connect it gives an error "Failed to mount Windows share". On my Ubuntu laptop I can browse the shares and see the share. On my Windows system I can see the share, connect to it, and even map it as network drive to auto-connect whenever I log into Windows. I've enable the share that comes with the Samba configuration. And each machine uses the same password for this user. So on my Windows machines, my Ubuntu laptop and the Ubuntu server I have 1 user with the username "richard". While installing my server I made sure that when asked to create the initial user I entered the username that I use on my Windows machines. The passwords can match if you want but that's not required.Īdding the user to the Samba password database? Then that user will have to be added to the samba password database. That's the only way they will get a home directory to access. Just so there's no confusion about this the way the standard share works there must be a server user created that matches the client user's name - Linux clients as well.







Samba ubuntu windows asking for password